Legends League Cricket Players’ Draft: Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Watson, Jacques Kallis top picks

Legends League Cricket Players' Draft: Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Watson, Jacques Kallis top picks
Legends League Cricket Players' Draft: Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Watson, Jacques Kallis top picks

Legends League Cricket Players’ Draft: Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Watson, Jacques Kallis top picks

Legends League Cricket Players’ Draft: With a combined purse of INR 32 crore, four franchises — the Bhilwara Group’s Bhilwara Kings, Manipal Group’s Manipal Tigers, Adani Sportsline’s Gujarat Giants, and GMR Sports’ India Capitals — selected 59 stars from the players’ draft held virtually on Friday for the upcoming season of the Legends League Cricket (LLC).

There were 79 cricketers in the player draft, and each team received Rs 8 crore. Now that teams can add more players using the remaining purse, they have three more days to submit their final squad.

“Among the teams, Manipal Tigers splurged the most amount of Rs 6,91,20,000 and have a remaining purse of 1,08,80,000. Tigers were followed closely by India Capitals as they spent Rs 6,38,80,000 and Gujarat Giants who splurged Rs 5,51,80,000 on their stars. Bhilwara Kings were the most economical as they spent Rs 5,62,20,000. All of them have made judicious spend, the player mix seems great and also it will be very interesting to see what each of them does now on the field. I wish everyone the best of luck,” said Raman Raheja, CEO and Co-Founder of Legends League Cricket

The option to choose one more player was extended to the teams after they had already named their captains.

Former Australian pace wonder Brett Lee was selected by Manipal Tigers, while Gujarat chose Parthiv Patel, a local legend and former India wicket-keeper, for their roster. Bhilwara Kings selected Yusuf Pathan, who will now get the opportunity to compete with his brother Irfan in the event, while India Capitals selected Ravi Bopara.

The Gujarat Giants also made an effort to create a harmonious balance within their group. In addition to Patel, they have chosen left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori, a former captain of New Zealand, and Ajantha Mendis, a mystery spinner from Sri Lanka. Lendl Simmons, a batsman for the West Indies, is most likely to start alongside skipper Virender Sehwag. And also with Mitchell McClenaghan leading the fast bowling attack.

“It has been an enthralling draft today with Gujarat Giants securing the envisaged team mix for the upcoming season of Legends League Cricket On the one hand, former Indian opener Virendra Sehwag will be captaining the team and on the other, top-order batsman and wicket-keeper, Parthiv Patel from Gujarat will be energising the game like never before. We look forward to contributing to one of the best experiences for cricket fans by bringing their favourite legends back in competitive cricket,” said Satyam Trivedi, Head- Adani Sportsline

Mitchell Johnson, a speedster from Australia who was chosen by the India Capitals, will shine during the tournament. Former England pacer Liam Plunkett will bowl in support of the left-arm fast bowler. Legendary all-rounder and former South Africa captain Jacques Kallis will also wear the team’s jersey. And also Ross Taylor will share batting duties with skipper Gautam Gambhir

“Really happy with the squad that India Capitals have put on the table. Congratulations to Ruchir (GM) and also the team for the fabulous job” said Gautam Gambhir, Indian Capitals Captain.

Along with Lee, Manipal also acquired Muttiah Muralidharan, a master of spin. The former off-spinner from Sri Lanka will have the opportunity to compete against the team’s skipper and another off-spin legend Harbhajan Singh. Lance Klusener, a former South African all-rounder, and Romesh Kaluwitherana, a former Sri Lankan wicketkeeper who was instrumental in his nation’s 1996 World Cup victory, were the Tigers’ other key acquisitions.

“Entire process of players drafting in a virtual mode was both exciting and intense. Real-time dashboard to check on players chosen, money spent, balance etc is a good innovation. The free Hit feature was a big hit! Overall it was an enjoyable experience despite being virtual. We are excited to be a part of this Legends tournament and look forward to some great cricket,” said S.Vaitheeswaran, VC& MD (MEMG) Owners of Manipal Tigers.

Shane Watson, a former all-rounder for Australia who won the 2015 ODI World Cup, was the top choice for Bhilwara. Along with him, the team also chose Sreesanth and Monty Panesar.

“I am really happy with the team, specially the fast bowling unit, we have the best fast bowling unit. We have couple of good finishers and we have a good left-arm spinner in Monty Panesar and a few all-rounders. So looking forward to this team I am really confident that we can do well if we can have the availability of all players. And also they are all fit,” said Irfan Pathan, the Bhilwara Kings Skipper.

The 16-match Legends League Cricket tournament will feature four teams. The league will begin on September 17 at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. And also it will be held in five different locations, including Lucknow, New Delhi, Cuttack, and Jodhpur.


Gujarat Giants: Virender Sehwag (Captain) Parthiv Patel; Elton Chigumbura; Chris Tremlett; Richard Levi; Graeme Swann; Joginder Sharma; Ashoke Dinda; Daniel Vettori; Kevin O’Brien; Stuart Binny; Mitchell Mcclenaghan; Lendl Simmons; Manvinder Bisla; Ajantha Mendis.

India Capitals: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Ravi Bopara, Farveez Maharoof, Mitchell Johnson, Jacques Kallis, Pankaj Singh, Ross Taylor, Prosper Utseya, John Mooney, Mashrafe Mortaza, Hamilton Masakadza, Rajat Bhatia, Liam Plunkett, Asghar Afghan, Denesh Ramdin, Pravin Tambe.

Manipal Tigers: Harbhajan Singh (Captain) Brett Lee, Andrew Flintoff, VRV Singh Parvinder Awana, Reetinder Sodhi, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Lance Klusener, Ryan Sidebottom, Mohammad Kaif, Phil Mustard, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Bhilwara Kings: Irfan Pathan (Captain), Yusuf Pathan, Sudeep Tyagi, Tino Best, Owais Shah, Tim Bresnan, Shane Watson, Sreesanth, Nick Compton, Matt Prior, Samit Patel, Fidel Edwards, William Porterfield, Naman Ojha, Monty Panesar.