IPL 2022: RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season

IPL 2022: RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season
IPL 2022: RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season

IPL 2022: RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season

IPL 2022: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Kolkata Knight Riders by three wickets at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai to claim their first win of the season on Wednesday.

Kolkata Knight Riders needed some early wickets to defend a modest 129-run goal, and Umesh Yadav delivered, removing RCB opener Anuj Rawat for a duck caught behind to wicket-keeper Sheldon Jackson in the first over. Virat Kohli came into the batter’s box and smashed two straight boundaries off Umesh Yadav. Also Tim Southee took the wicket of RCB skipper Faf du Plessis, who was caught by Ajinkya Rahane for four runs in the next over. Umesh, who had been blasted for two boundaries in a row by Kohli in the previous over, made a superb comeback, removing the former RCB captain for 12 after being caught behind by keeper Jackson. Bangalore were reduced to 17 for 3 at the end of the over.

Therefore, RCB desperately needed a partnership, and David Willey and Sherfane Rutherford provided it in the eighth over, taking the team’s total above the 50-run barrier.

As RCB lost their fourth wicket at 62, mystery spinner Sunil Narine ended the 45-run stand, removing Willey for 18 caught by Nitish Rana.

IPL 2022: RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season
RCB beat KKR by three wickets to register their first win of season

Rutherford was joined by Shahbaz Ahmed, and the pair batted wisely to push the team’s total above the triple-figure mark in the 16th over. However, at one point, it appeared that the Rutherford-Ahmed combination would lead the RCB side to victory. As Bangalore lost their fifth wicket for 101, Varun Chakravarthy struck when keeper Jackson stumped Shahbaz Ahmed for 27 from 20 balls.

Southee was reintroduced to the attack, and the Kiwi bowler struck twice, dismissing well-placed Rutherford for 28 and Wanindu Hasaranga for 4, as RCB lost seven wickets for 111 runs, needing 18 more runs to win.

At a point when the game might have gone either way, Harshal Patel went into bat. And smashed two boundaries in the 19th over, with RCB needing 7 runs off the last over to win.

Dinesh Karthik, the experienced wicket-keeper batsman, smashed a six. And a boundary to help RCB win the match by three wickets.

Earlier in the day, Faf du Plessis, the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, won the toss and elected to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders. Kolkata, the two-time winners, got off to a good start. Scoring 14 runs in the opening three overs thanks to openers Ajinkya Rahane and Venkatesh Iyer.

In the fourth over, RCB skipper du Plessis made a bowling change, replacing Mohammed Siraj with Akash Deep, who struck with his first ball for 10 caught and bowled as KKR lost their first wicket for 14.

In the fifth over, Siraj brought in from the other end. Meanwhile, the pacer took the wicket of Rahane, who caught by Shahbaz Ahmed for 9, leaving Kolkata at 32 for 2.

Akash Deep struck again, this time dismissing dangerous Nitish Rana for 10. With a wonderful diving catch by David Willey, leaving KKR reeling at 44/3 at the end of the Powerplay.

However, after the Powerplay, the RCB skipper added spin by bringing in Wanindu Hasaranga. And the Sri Lankan struck, taking the prized scalp of KKR captain Shreyas Iyer for 13. To put his side in additional trouble at 46 for 4.

Kolkata crossed the 50-run mark thanks to Sunil Narine’s few knocks. But any dreams of a comeback dashed as Hasaranga took two more wickets off successive deliveries. To replace Sunil Narine and Sheldon Jackson, leaving Kolkata in serious difficulty at 67/6.

Harshal Patel also joined the party, bowling Sam Billings for 14. As KKR lost their seventh wicket for 83 runs, caught by Virat Kohli.

With some lusty punches, Andre Russell kept the scoreboard rolling, hitting three sixes and one boundary. Harshal Patel, who seemed dangerous at the time, caught behind by wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik for 25 runs. As Kolkata lost their ninth wicket for 99 runs.

Therefore, the Shreyas Iyer-led team fought their way to the triple digits. Hasaranga continued to be unstoppable, dismissing Tim Southee for 1 caught by Faf du Plessis. As Kolkata lost their ninth wicket for 101 runs.

Just when it looked like RCB will clean up the tail, KKR tail-enders Umesh Yadav. Also Varun Chakravarthy showed some fight by hitting a couple boundaries to create a 27-run stand for the 10th wicket. Moreover, Akash Deep shook Umesh Yadav’s stumps with two fours and one six. In 18.5 overs, KKR bowled out for 125.

Brief Scores:

KKR 125/10 in 18.5 overs (Andre Russell 25, Umesh Yadav 18; Wanindu Hasaranga 4/20, Akash Deep 3/45)

RCB 132/7 in 19.2 overs (Sherfane Rutherford 28, Shahbaz Ahmed 27; Tim Southee 3/20, Umesh Yadav 2/16).