India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have ‘Super Sunday’ as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022

India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have 'Super Sunday' as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022
India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have 'Super Sunday' as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022

India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have ‘Super Sunday’ as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022

India vs Pakistan Live: India will take on Pakistan for the second time in a span of 10 days, as they begin their campaign in the Super-four of the Asia Cup on Sunday.

Both teams will aim to start their Super four campaign on a victorious note. With victories over Pakistan and Hong Kong in their previous games, India will try to keep up their winning streak in the competition. Pakistan would be cautious in the meanwhile given India’s favourable record in the previous five T20Is against them. Of the five games played between the two teams, India has triumphed in the last four. It will be intriguing to observe how each team assembles their starting 11 given the injury issues on both sides. Shahnawaz Dahani of Pakistan will miss the match due to a side strain, and Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the Asia Cup with a knee injury.

Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Karthik will once again be India’s choice. With the former adding the X-factor and the latter being in excellent finishing form. Karthik’s only left-hander, Jadeja, is ineligible for the Asia Cup, hence Pant might start over him in this match.

The Indian management would be pleased with Virat Kohli’s performance in the most recent game. That also saw opener KL Rahul spend some much-needed time in the middle. Rahul will be expected to play with a lot more freedom by the squad, though.

Notably, India and Pakistan’s most recent matchup was a thriller with a reasonable score. Their respective 2022 Asia Cup campaigns got underway with this game. India defeated Pakistan by five wickets to get its title defence off to a victorious start. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (4/26) and Hardik Pandya (3/25) contributed to Pakistan being bowled out for 147 in 19.5 overs. Pakistan’s best scorer was Rizwan (43).

India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have 'Super Sunday' as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022
India vs Pakistan Live: Fans to have ‘Super Sunday’ as India to face Pakistan again in Asia Cup 2022

Virat Kohli (35), Ravindra Jadeja (35) and Hardik Pandya (33*) all contributed to Team India’s five-wicket victory with two balls remaining as they chased down 148. Both Naseem Shah (2/27) and Mohammed Nawaz (3/33) gave their teams strong efforts with the ball.

But this time, the stakes are quite high. Both sides are eager to start their Super Four Phase on a winning note. Because it will make their path to the Asia Cup final simpler. Fans are also hoping that both Asian powerhouses advance so they can compete in the championship game.

Indian top order consisting of KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will have to deliver their best in this match. While Virat appears to have lost some of his rust with his unbeaten 59* against Hong Kong. Openers Rahul and Rohit are still having trouble getting off to a good start and maximising their powerplay. The challenge for Rohit will be to get back in the running. While Rahul’s objective will be to not just score runs but also to keep a good strike rate.

Recently, the middle order in India has proven to be more reliable. When it was necessary, people like Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, and Deepak Hooda stepped up and accepted responsibility. Batters with flair like Suryakumar, Hardik, and Pant will be eager to test a strong Pakistani assault with a variety of strokes.

The majority of Indian bowlers have been effective, including Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Hardik Pandya, who not only took crucial wickets but also bowled efficiently. Avesh Khan, a pacer, had a costly performance against Hong Kong in which he let up 53 runs in four overs. If Avesh has management support despite recently leaking runs with the ball, it will be intriguing to see.

The UAE wickets, which have usually favoured India’s pace attack, will also be a challenge for spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel (who has taken Ravindra Jadeja’s spot due to injury).

Pakistan, on the other hand, is entering the game with high spirits after thrashing Hong Kong by 155 runs. Though their reliance on star batter Babar Azam raises some doubts. It was nice to see players like Mohammed Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, and Khusdil Shah score runs to make up for Azam’s lacklustre effort.

For this crucial match, Azam will be attempting to get back into his finest shape. Since they are not currently facing Hong Kong or another associate team, Pakistan should use care when facing Indian bowlers. They are competing against a group that is equally as elite as their own.

Pakistan’s bowling has been outstanding so far in the Asia Cup. In the two T20I games he has played so far, young pacer Naseem Shah has excelled. And has mostly taken the place of his captain, Shaheen Shah Afridi. Shahnawaz Dahani, a pacer, has also excelled. Pakistan’s greatest strength in this competition has been its spinners, with Mohammad Nawaz leading the bowling statistics with six wickets. Shadab Khan, a leg-break bowler, is close by, sitting third with five wickets. Pakistan will need to play outstanding pace and spin if they want to win this game.

Regardless of the outcome, Asia Cup 2022 expected to bring another another “Super Sunday” to the continent’s millions of devoted cricket fans in Asian homes. While many of them will swarm to the stadium to watch the action. It will also exciting for them to watch it live on television while surrounded by loved ones, food and friends.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, Mohammed Hasnain, Hasan Ali.