IND vs WI: Hosts look to seal T20I series, eyes on Virat’s form

IND vs WI: Hosts look to seal T20I series, eyes on Virat's form
IND vs WI: Hosts look to seal T20I series, eyes on Virat's form

IND vs WI: Hosts look to seal T20I series, eyes on Virat’s form

IND vs WI: After winning the first T20I against West Indies, India’s Rohit Sharma will try to wrap off the series when the two teams meet in the second T20I.

On Friday, India and the West Indies will face off in the second T20I of the three-match series at Eden Gardens. India defeated West Indies by six wickets in the opening T20I, thanks to Ravi Bishnoi’s two-wicket haul and strong performances from Rohit Sharma (40) and Suryakumar Yadav (34*). The hosts will like to keep their momentum going and win the T20I on Friday. Virat Kohli scored just 17 runs in the first game, and the management is hoping for a huge game from the right-handed hitter.

Virat had scored a century against Bangladesh in 2019, but the three-figure mark has eluded him since then. The second-highest run-scorer in men’s T20Is, will be hoping to reclaim his form soon and end the century drought.

Rohit Sharma smashed a blistering 40 in the opening T20I. And it was his effort that kept India ahead in the chase. However, a few fast wickets put India in trouble chasing 158. But Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer showed cool heads in the end, and India won.

Ravi Bishnoi wowed everyone in his debut with statistics of 2-17. And he’ll be looking to keep up the good work. In patches, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled effectively, but the management would like to see more consistency.

Harshal Patel was also a valuable addition to the lineup, returning with two wickets. When it comes to the West Indies, Nicholas Pooran excelled with his 61-run knock. While the rest of the batsmen underwhelmed once again, similar to the ODI series.

If the visitors would hope to level the series. They will need their top-order to perform well in the second T20I.


India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Roseton Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shephard, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.