Duleep Trophy: Ricky Bhui slams ton, South Zone pile up 630

Duleep Trophy: Ricky Bhui slams ton, South Zone pile up 630
Duleep Trophy: Ricky Bhui slams ton, South Zone pile up 630

Duleep Trophy: Ricky Bhui slams ton, South Zone pile up 630

On the second day of their Duleep Trophy semifinal match against North Zone here on Friday, South Zone declared with a whopping first innings total of 630 for eight, led by unbroken scores of 103 from Ricky Bhui and 50 from Baba Aparajith.

With the skilled Yash Dhull on 8 (18 balls, 1 four), and Manan Vohra batting on 11 (12 balls, 1 four), North’s response saw them reach 24 for no loss at stumps, but they were still 606 runs behind South’s impressive first innings total.

In Coimbatore, the small opener Prithvi Shaw was on fire, smashing an unbeaten 96-ball 104 (11 fours, 3 sixes), as West Zone finished the second innings at 130 for three to increase their lead over Central Zone to 259 runs.

The South batsmen resumed with 324 for two after the overnight score. Before being caught LBW by left-arm spinner Mayank Dagar, captain Hanuma Vihari (batting on 107 overnight) increased his partnership with Indrajith (65, 104 balls, 4 fours) to 105 runs (3 for 184).

Before Indrajith became Dagar’s second victim, he and Manish Pandey (35) contributed 57 runs for the fourth wicket.

Pandey was defeated by Dagar at 440, but the suffering of the North was not over as Bhui launched an assault that increased the South Zone total with the help of K Gowtham (48, 72 balls, 4 fours, and 2 sixes) and T Ravi Teja (42, 66 balls, 4 fours, and 1 six).

Bhui and the others added 190 runs to the team’s initial score of 440 for five before captain Vihari called the innings.

Rohan S Kunnummal, who was playing in his first Duleep Trophy match, hit a century on the first day to put South Zone in charge.

Brief scores: South Zone 630 for 8 declared in 172.overs (Rohan Kunnumal 143, Hanuma Vihari 134, Ricky Bhui 103 not out, B Indrajith 65, Mayank Agarwal 49, K Gowtham 48, Mayank Dagar 3 for 184) vs North Zone 24 for no loss in 5 overs. (Toss: South).

West hits back to bundle out Central for 128 after making 257

In the other semifinal, West Zone’s bowlers stepped up and held Central Zone to just 128 runs in the first innings, giving them a 129-run advantage after being held to 257.

The attacking Shaw then delivered a devastating knock to ensure that West gained control of the situation. West had taken the lead after his brilliant onslaught on the opposing bowlers, reaching 130 for three at the end.

Shaw showed off his batting prowess by blasting into the Central zone attack. After hitting a tonne in the quarterfinal against a poor North East squad. Shaw appeared to hit boundaries at will. And was practically impossible to stop as he took the game by the scruff of the neck.

Ajinkya Rahane and Yashasvi Jaiswal two of the three wickets lost by West. While Shaw was tearing up the bowlers all over the field.

Before the Shaw show, the seasoned Jaydev Unadkat (3 for 24) caused the early damage. While the Central line-up stifled by Tanush Kotian, who took three wickets, including Karan Sharma.

West were only able to add five more runs to their total. When the second day began with them at overnight 252 for nine.

The West innings came to an end when pacer Aniket Choudhary (2 for 48) bowled out Rahul Tripathi for 67. With a final score of 5 for 66, left-arm spinner Kumar Kartikeya Singh was the most effective bowler.

In addition to Tripathi’s fifty, opener Prithvi Shaw struck sixty (78 balls, 10 fours). And Shams Mulani also scored sixty (41).

Unadkat’s LBW catch of Yash Dubey for four ran the Central Zone innings to its knees. Himanshu Mantri and Unadkat shared 28 runs before Himanshu Mantri dismissed for 11.

As Central slumped to 94 for seven, Chintan Gaja (1 for 25). And Atit Sheth (2 for 27) also picked up wickets at regular intervals.

Before dismissed by Kotian for 14, Venkatesh Iyer, who has played for India in ODIs and T20s. He smashed two fours and a six during his brief stint.

The last man out was Karan Sharma (34, 64 balls, 2 fours, 2 sixes). He  caught by Tripathi off Kotian.

Brief scores:

West Zone 259 all out in 85.4 overs (Rahul Tripathi 67, Prithvi Shaw 60, Shams Mulani 41, Kumar Kartikeya Singh 5 for 66) and 430 for 3 in 29 overs (Prithvi Shaw 104 batting) vs Central Zone 128 all out in 40.1 overs (Karan Sharma 34, Tanush Kotian 3 for 17, Jaydev Unadkat 3 for 24) (Toss: Central).