CWG 2022: Fighting Indian unit settles for silver, goes down to Australia in thrilling final by 9 runs

CWG 2022: Fighting Indian unit settles for silver, goes down to Australia in thrilling final by 9 runs
CWG 2022: Fighting Indian unit settles for silver, goes down to Australia in thrilling final by 9 runs

CWG 2022: Fighting Indian unit settles for silver, goes down to Australia in thrilling final by 9 runs

CWG 2022: The Indian women’s cricket team made history on Sunday at the ongoing Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham when they won their first silver medal.

India’s captain Harmanpreet Kaur put up a valiant 65-run performance, but it wasn’t enough to save India’s defeat as Australia won the game by nine runs to win the Commonwealth Games 2022. India’s first-ever Commonwealth Games campaign ended with them being bowled out for 152, and they were forced to accept the silver medal.

Harmanpreet Kaur scored 65 runs for India, and Jemimah Rodrigues produced a fantastic 33-run knock. Megan Schutt and Ashleigh Gardner each took three wickets for Australia.

India’s attempt to chase down the gold-medal mark of 162 got off to a poor start when they lost their two top openers, Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma, in less than five overs.

India struggled at 22/2 as opening players Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma, who were in terrific form going into the final, could only score 6 and 11 points, respectively.

Together with her captain, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues attempted to anchor the innings. The pair continued to score runs by dashing effectively between the wickets.

Darcie Brown was pounded by Harmanpreet for 14 runs in the sixth over of the inning. After accumulating runs for their club, the pair continued to make tremendous shots.

India’s score after the powerplay was 42/2. With a four to deep mid-wicket, Harmanpreet welcomed spinner Alana King to the attack.

Harmanpreet pounded Australian bowlers all over the place as she reached her half-century in the 34th delivery. With sixes and fours, the pair helped their team surpass the 100-run barrier in the 14th over.

When Megan Schutt struck out Jemimah Rodrigues for 33 runs, she won her side a much-needed victory. Pooja Vastrakar was brought to the crease after Rodrigues’ dismissal.

Vastrakar was only able to score one run before returning to the pavilion. Soon after Vastrakar was removed by Ashleigh Gardner after getting 65 runs, Harmanpreet joined her in the hut.

To lessen the strain from the Women in Blue, Deepti Sharma and Sneh Rana sought to anchor the inning and played some massive shorts.

Sneh Rana’s time at the crease, however, was brief because she left after getting run out. Then Yastika Bhatia arrived to the gathering. Deepti Sharma struck out in the thrilling 19th over after scoring 13 runs in 8 balls.

India needed 11 runs in the game’s final over. Therefore, Jess Jonassen returned Yastika Bhatia to the hut in the 20th over.

The valiant Indian team bundled out on 152, leaving them unable to chase down the score, giving Australia their first-ever Commonwealth Games cricket championship.

In the historic gold medal match, Renuka Singh and Sneh Rana’s blazing spells helped India hold Australia to 161/8 in 20 overs.

Beth Mooney earned 61 points for Australia, and Meg Lanning contributed 36 runs in her innings. Renuka Singh and Sneh Rana both claimed two wickets for India.

Australia chose to bat first, but things didn’t go well as Renuka Singh, an Indian pacer, struck early with the ball once more in this crucial gold medal game, removing the first batter Alyssa Healy for seven runs.

Healy attempted to play a shot across the line, but she was unable to make contact with the ball as it crashed against her pads and trapped her leg in front of the wicket.

With the Australians at 22/1 after four overs, Harmanpreet Kaur’s squad made a significant breakthrough.

Opening batswoman Beth Mooney and also captain Meg Lanning changed their approach and began to bat forcefully. With excellent sprinting between the wickets, the pair continued to score runs in every over.

Meg Lanning, though, forced to return to the hut after Radha Yadav ran her out for 36 at the non-end. striker’s Australia lost another wicket immediately afterward when Tahlia McGrath got out caught by Deepti Sharma’s ball.

Ashleigh Gardner, a new batter, hit two back-to-back fours in Deepti Sharma’s over after the 12th over of the innings.

Sneh Rana won her team a significant victory. By dismissing Ashleigh Gardner for 25 runs in 15 deliveries in the 16th over of the innings.

Mooney, who was in excellent form, pounded Indian bowlers all over the field. To score her half-century in the 16th over with a thunderous four.

Australia was struggling on 133/5 when Renuka struck out new batter Grace Harris in the 17th over. On Sneh Rana’s ball, Mooney (61) sensationally caught by Deepti Sharma with one hand.

The lower order of Australia failed to score any runs in the final over of the innings as Deepti Sharma concluded the first innings by only giving up five runs in the 20th over, also leaving Australia’s total at 161/8.

Brief score:

Australia 161/8 (Beth Mooney 61, Meg Lanning 36; Renuka Singh 2-25) vs India 152 (Harmanpreet Kaur 65, Jemimah Rodrigues 33; Ashleigh Gardner 3-16).